Beans, Burritos, and Freezer Fun

11 Jul

Recently I decided that I needed to change my diet, so that I was eating more beans (or protein) and less pasta. Thus the need for a nicely seasoned bean recipe was born! The full recipe is at the bottom of the post. I really like the combination of spices, but you can obviously alter the amount of each used if you want. Next time I might throw in some fresh onion, garlic, and cilantro as well, but this was work-with-whatever-is-in-the-kitchen style cooking. Excuse the lighting in some of the pictures; I’m still learning how to take nice pictures without natural light or Photoshop (I’m definitely noticing that some of these pictures are a little dark!).

Start by pouring 1 can of black beans (rinsed) and 1 can of water into a pot. Bring to a boil.

Once the beans are boiling, reduce the heat. Mine was set on medium-low. At this point add your spices: 1/2 teaspoon onion salt and oregano, 1 teaspoon cumin, garlic powder, and paprika. Stir. Let simmer for 15 minutes and then remove from heat.

This point is where I had to get creative. :) How was I going to drain the excess water while retaining the flavor of the spices? To solve my problem I covered the surface of a strainer with a layer of paper towels, poured the beans on top of that, and let them drain as much as possible.

I went ahead and moved the beans with a regular spoon over to a bowl because I wanted to keep a little bit of the liquid (who likes dry beans? not me!).

In addition to the beans I cooked up some white rice, so that I could make simple burritos with just rice, beans, and sour cream.

Here’s the inside of my burrito:

My mom told me that beans + corn = a complete protein (and moms are always right :) ), so I boiled some corn for 7 minutes to go along with my burrito. Yum!

Since there is only one of me and lots of beans, I wrapped up three more (medium sized) burritos to freeze for later. I saw this idea over at Shutterbean, and I’ve been waiting to try it out for a while. Her tips are to take off the foil, wrap the burrito in a damp paper towel, and microwave for 3 minutes. I think for these smaller burritos 2 minutes might be okay. I’ll report back once I’ve tried it.


Spiced Black Beans makes enough beans for 4 medium burritos

Ingredients

1 Can Black Beans

1 Can Water

1/2 tsp onion salt

1/2 tsp oregano

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp paprika

Directions

  1. Bring beans and water to a boil in a small saucepan
  2. Reduce heat to medium-low
  3. Add spices. Stir to combine
  4. Let simmer for 15 minutes
  5. Drain beans using a stainer with a layer of paper towels on top to retain the flavors
  6. Move to a serving dish and enjoy!
6 Responses to “Beans, Burritos, and Freezer Fun”

  1. Gillian July 12, 2012 at 2:33 am #

    Great idea to make extra to freeze! My husband and I bought a humongo freezer for just that reason. If you ever want to make extremely easy (and delicious) brown rice, Alton Brown (hehe) has a baked rice that is super quick and requires little to no attention. Hope you are having fun spending time with your mom. I know a certain Betty that misses you :)

  2. Cameron July 13, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    Making large batches of food and freezing and/or refrigerating them is so helpful. I make huge batches of food on weekends so that I don’t have to worry much about dinners during the week.

    • amenehmc July 13, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      Yeah, this week I’m living off a huge batch of baked pasta and these burritos, haha. Except I’m kindof at the point of having too much food…but oh well!

  3. veganarama July 13, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    I saw this in my WordPress reader and I was like “Frozen burritos…Ameneh and I were talking about those!!” and then I realized that it was your blog. I like this striped background btw…is it new, or was it there when you made the blog? Also your burritos are very nicely wrapped.

  4. veganarama August 12, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I know these three burritos have not lasted you this long!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean - August 17, 2012

    [...] Ameneh of Amnevore made a batch of my regular Freezer Burritos. Wahoo! var linkwithin_site_id = 1242561; 6 Commentssay something [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

